An ode to my job

thankful

Sometimes I can get pretty down on my job.

Especially when things get stressful. I resent that I have to put up with it all, and early retirement can’t come soon enough.

But that’s the wrong attitude. It also makes it difficult for me to endure.

I am VERY grateful to even have a job, let alone a good job. It’s not so easy to find work as an immigrant, especially for one who doesn’t speak the dominant language (well).

My job actually requires a PhD in the field, which I don’t have. Instead I have a mildly (as in 1%) related Master’s degree. A Master’s is considered the minimum level of education in Germany, like how North Americans view Bachelor’s degrees.

The step from a Master’s to a PhD is huge, and Germans love credentialed papers. So having a Master’s is not overly impressive when I’m applying to a job requiring a PhD.

But I got it! I was lucky, because I’m GREAT at interviews. I made everyone love me. No joke, that’s exactly what happened. No one cared about my [lack of] skills, they just thought I was a super person and they were right! :mrgreen:

This also means that I fit in with the corporate culture at my company, which makes it a pleasant environment for me. I’ve worked in companies where I didn’t feel I fit in, and that was much harder.

My job also gives me the chance to connect with people and make friends. It can get lonely as an expat when your whole life revolves around 1 person (your partner), because you lack a network and don’t speak the main language.

Having a job really lets me forge a life that is independent from my husband, and that’s healthy for me and our relationship.

I feel very productive at my job too. This feeling of productivity is essential for me to feel happy, not just at work, but in life. I don’t like to feel stagnant.

There are also functional perks to having my job, asides from getting paid. Like having a company iPhone + a sleek new laptop (also allowed for personal use), free German lessons, running marathons, receiving monthly investment contributions, and travel. Even though work-travel is not very fun, but I put it in anyway because sometimes it’s fun and I appreciate getting out of Germany once in a while, and not on my dime.

Of course, I’m also grateful to have a stable income so that I can plan for an early retirement. This is a HUGE privilege in itself, and the gravity is not lost on me.

Anyone interested in writing an ode to their jobs? I’m curious to read it. I can guess at what sucks about your job, but what’s great about it? What do you appreciate about your job? Other than a paycheque, how does your job help you reach your goals? Is this the best/worst job you’ve ever had? Please leave me a comment if you blog about it. Inquiring minds want to know!

7 thoughts on “An ode to my job

  1. As down as i was about my industry in my recent post, our firm is still the best place I have ever worked by a long way. It’s easy to lose sight of that though when it is stressful, requires weekend work, and I need to keep doing it for several more years before I can retire!

    Like

    • I hear ya. Weekend work and lots of stress is not the best combination. Those are the times I’m ready to throw in the towel too.

      Hope you don’t feel like I’m picking on your recent entry. I know what it’s like to let off steam. I’ve been meaning to write this type of entry for a while, especially because things at work are going well right now. So I felt like I should harness the positive energy to keep myself going. Who knows when I’ll need to let off steam next. 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: How to negotiate a salary raise and other perks | Ms. Canadian Expat

  3. I’m currently working 2 jobs, going to school and focusing on the beginning stages of a potential business! Stress has become part of my vocabulary in many different ways.

    However, the positives of my job(s): For one of them, I am an office manager at a large apartment complex. I’m pretty sure it’s easy to see the upside of that! (Helloooooo land-lord experience!!) In addition to this I get the experiences of essentially running a large business, without the craziness of being the actual owner.

    My other job is solely for experience related to my degree (Forensic Investigation). By working both of these jobs, I not only set up experience for my mainstream income of Forensics…. But I also get that vital experience in real estate that I plan to use in the future as supplemental income!

    Who knows! Maybe I’m networking with Investors and don’t even know it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good for you, you’re definitely hustling and working hard towards your goals! Impressed that you can be the office manager while also a full time student. Your bosses must trust you a lot.

      I also worked 1-4 jobs during my undergrad and it went well. I was stressed a lot but I learned so much, made a bunch of contacts, and gained confidence. I’m in my 30’s now and am living off of the hard work I put in in my 20’s. Still not financially independent but in a few years I should be if all goes to plan.

      As I mentioned on your blog, your forensics job sounds so scary!!

      Like

  4. So we can both agree that it takes a significant amount of work to achieve dreams! The gaining of contacts, knowledge and confidence boost all play such a huge role into the future. I’m quite happy I decided to start as early as I have!

    The main thing that set you back from financial independence was the huge move to Germany! But you’re happy now and working towards that goal. THIS is what is the most important. Why do it at all if you aren’t going to be happy along the journey?!?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

