Negotiating a salary raise

Today, I casually mentioned to my boss that I want a raise.

I’ve been working at my company for almost a year now, and wanted to celebrate that.

Especially since the project I’ve been working on has generated the company $1 Million over the last few weeks. This was announced at our big team meeting 2 days ago, so I’m striking while the iron is hot! (I was a central part of the project)

My boss agrees with me that I should get a raise, but has to investigate with her boss and HR first.

In Germany, I get the sense that most people won’t ask for raises if they are satisfied with their pay. I am satisfied with my pay, but I know that if I don’t ask, I won’t get it. So I may as well ask.

While I’m not a very career-oriented person, I do work hard and am not afraid to leverage that. It feels comfortable to me.

My company doesn’t give out raises so easily though, but I’ll see how it goes. Asking for raises is the best way to celebrate work anniversaries, in my opinion.

6 thoughts on “Negotiating a salary raise

  1. Pingback: How to negotiate a salary raise and other perks | Ms. Canadian Expat

  2. Pingback: How to negotiate $100+ per hour | Ms. Canadian Expat

Leave a Reply

