Living on one income

oneincome

To support our ability to FIRE in 7 years, we know that we need to get in there and start investing.

Last month I started off with a bulk purchase of index funds, and bought another small batch with my last pay cheque. But I still paid my share of the expenses.

Until now.

We decided that I will now invest 100% of my income to our index fund strategy!

While not a huge shift, it’s a start that’s easy to execute and understand.

Ideally, I would like it if we switched and invested Mr. German’s higher income into stocks, while living off of my pay.

But Mr. German is still hesitant of stock investing and likes the security of having lots of cash. This is something I too had to confront within myself, so I’m not trying to push him at all.

We’ll see how things flow organically.

There’s no right answer, just a difference of speeds and comfort levels.

I feel so lucky that this non-‘problem’ is ours. I’m more than happy and excited to be able to invest 100% of my next pay!

10 thoughts on “Living on one income

  1. So smart that you’re doing this! We’ve always had the one-income mentality, even though we both make a good income respectively. We bought our homes with the idea that we’d be able to cover the mortgage on one income, planned spending around that same income, etc. One thing to consider for Mr. German: (and will try to find where we read this…) keeping a high percentage of assets in cash or in savings accounts is actually a guaranteed way to lose value, because those investments are guaranteed not to keep pace with inflation. With investments, of course there’s a risk of losing value, but it’s balanced by a much higher likelihood of seeing growth that outpaces inflation. Finally understanding that helped us let go of our previously more conservative investing and saving approach. We still dollar cost average, but we don’t keep a ton in savings.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Living on one income when there are 2 is really a great way to live. So much less stressful that way, and it feels super to accelerate the savings/investments! Good for you 2 for living like that. It’s a relief for me to find others who live this way intentionally and prefer it. πŸ™‚

      No worries about finding us the literature – I’ve read them too from various bloggers. Unless you happened to read them in German. In that case, please send them over!! Since my husband is not so keen on personal finance to begin with, nor is he an English native speaker, I don’t want to push him too much. It’s akin to him asking me to read about his hobbies but in German. (no thanks!)

      Speaking of dollar cost averaging, I’m hoping to do this with Mr. German’s savings once the market goes down. Hopefully by then he’ll be okay with it! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Living on one income is very smart! We have been doing that my husband’s time in grad school – back then we would try to live exclusively on his stipend and invest most (if not all) of my paycheck. Those years allowed us to continue to spend low and live on one income (or less) now that we both have (well) paid jobs. I hope you can bring around Mr. German on the topic of investing. I was also quite risk averse, we started off quite conservative and slowly built it up to where we are now. It does take time πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • There’s something about living lean while on grad school that makes it easier to continue living lean during the yuppie years! I’m just a year and a half out of grad school myself, and like you and your husband, we’ve mostly avoided lifestyle inflation. Would you mind sharing (on your blog or wherever) what ‘riskier’ investments you and your husband have chosen? Index funds, blue chip companies?

      Like

  3. Pingback: Continuing to invest in VWRL | Ms. Canadian Expat

  4. Pingback: Earning dividend income + German tax issues | Ms. Canadian Expat

  5. Pingback: Back to investing | Ms. Canadian Expat

  6. Pingback: Automatic DIY investing in Germany with Wertpapiersparplan | Ms. Canadian Expat

Leave a Reply

