Running club

runners

I haven’t written anything about that mini-6K marathon I ran back in June.

It went well! I fulfilled my goal of running the entire track without stopping. I ran it in a leisurely 43 min and wasn’t sore the next day. While 43 min is slow, I still consider it a success!

Since then, I’ve kept up the running and am training for two upcoming 10Ks also sponsored by my company. A few days after that second 10K, I’ll work my last day at my job. *sniff*

Running is helping me a lot with stress management. If not for my consistent running, I’m sure I would be crippled with stress right now. But instead I’m keeping it cool. 😎

Believe it or not, I’ve also started a running club at work! We go running during lunch every Tuesday and Thursday, unless it rains (it rains a lot here!). It’s just a small group of 2-5 people, but we’re known as ‘the lunch time runners’ now. 🙂

This is crazy to me, because I don’t consider myself a runner – or at least not a very good one. When I told people I wanted to try running, people offered to run with me! Which is largely why I’ve kept it up, because it’s become a social gathering. I’m also flattered that these good runners continue to run with me even when I slow them down.  We have a lot of fun though, and I’ve gotten to know more people through running.

Running is helping me become powerful and strong. Physically yes, but this feeling is spilling over to other areas of my life too, and helping to sustain me during times of change. I’m so very grateful for that. I hope to keep this up in my new Niederrhein life.

3 thoughts on “Running club

  1. I find running to be a great stress buster too – I run every morning on a treadmill and have done so for about the last 12 months. I feel like I’ve done it for long enough that it’s just a habit now, and I don’t know where I’d be without it – I’d probably be a burnt-out wreck!

    Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah I thought of that, but then I would turn up all sweaty to work. There is a shower at work but I find the whole idea of having to take a change of clothes to work and use the dodgy shower there to be quite unappealing.

        Maybe I’ll just walk to work in my work clothes and still run first thing in the morning when I get up.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

