Changing my relationship with work

freelancer

Two weeks ago, I was feeling so stressed and down about my freelancing career.

I told Martin that I can’t do it. That I may as well just be a house wife (not that that’s easy) because I won’t be able to find clients who are willing to pay me.

I was just spewing all this negative shit.

The next morning, I decided to stop the pity party and to wear a dress that I love. I’ve had this dress for years but stopped wearing it because it made me look ‘fat’. So it hung guiltily in my closet, and I decided that today was the day that I would wear it.

So I did, and it didn’t make me look fat. It made me feel GREAT.

When the head of the department came to my office to chat with me, I casually told him that I’ve decided to freelance. He said that was great news and affirmed that I’m doing the right thing (he thinks I shouldn’t give up my life to look after my husband), and said he is for it and to figure out how to get the ball rolling with my contract.

Since then, things have been falling seamlessly into place.

My contract is being pushed. I didn’t even have to negotiate like I thought I would. My boss just said I should make what the senior freelancers make (3x my current rate!) and wanted to know how many hours I wanted to work so she could get the contract process started.

Well that was easy!

When I asked for a 10% raise earlier this year, plus working from home 2 days a week, I was met with resistance. I don’t blame my boss, it’s just how the organization works. But as a freelancer, I’m about to sign a contract earning more than I do now, but working only 1/3 of the time and all from home. Now the company is asking me if I am willing to come into the office once in a while.

It has completely turned the tables on how both sides are approaching work terms.

Now I have more control, and I tell them what I’m capable of doing and when and where.

It was not easy for me to quit my job, but I’m so glad I did it!

I have no idea how things will work out, and I expect freelancing to have its own pitfalls too. But if I never dared to step out of my comfort zone, I wouldn’t be able to entertain all these possibilities.

8 thoughts on “Changing my relationship with work

  1. Congratulations on such a great outcome. It’s not every day someone effectively triples their hourly rate! And even if you still earn the same amount overall, you would only have to work one third of the time which would make life a whole lot easier.

    If I could cut my work hours by two thirds it would almost be like being on holidays!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: An introverted freelancer | Ms. Canadian Expat

  3. Pingback: Entering my mid-30’s and still not pregnant | Ms. Canadian Expat

Leave a Reply

